Montana Lemon Law Summary
STANDARDS OF THE MONTANA LEMON LAW
New Motor Vehicle Warranty Act
The following is a brief explanation of most relevant provisions of the Montana lemon
law. The complete text of the lemon law can be found at Mont. Code Ann. 61-4-501 et
The Montana lemon law covers the purchaser or lessee, other than for purposes of resale
or lease, of a passenger motor vehicle used for personal, family, or household purposes
that has not been brought into nonconformity as the result of abuse, neglect, or
unauthorized modifications or alterations.
This includes any person to whom the passenger motor vehicle is transferred for the
same purposes during the duration of an express warranty applicable to the passenger
motor vehicle and any other person entitled by the terms of the warranty to enforce the
obligations of the warranty.
The lemon law defines “motor vehicle” as a vehicle, including the nonresidential portion
of a motor home, propelled by its own power, designed primarily to transport persons or
property upon the public highways, and sold or registered in this state.
“Motor vehicle” excludes a truck with 15,000 pounds or more gross vehicle weight
rating; or components, systems, fixtures, appliances, furnishings, accessories, and
features that are designed, used, and maintained primarily for residential purposes.
The lemon law covers any defect or condition that substantially impairs the use and
market value or safety of the motor vehicle to the consumer. This is referred to as a
The lemon law provides manufacturers with an affirmative defense if it can be shown
1. The alleged nonconformity does not substantially impair the use, market value or
safety of the motor vehicle; or
2. The nonconformity is the result of abuse, neglect, or unauthorized modification or
alteration of the motor vehicle by the consumer.
PERIOD OF TIME COVERED BY MONTANA LEMON LAW
The lemon law defines the warranty period as the period ending 2 years after the date
of the original delivery of a new motor vehicle to the consumer, or during the first
18,000 miles of operation, whichever is earlier.
More at: bbb.org/us/auto-line/state-lemon-laws/